The chase for spots in the national men’s golf team vying in this year’s SEA Games begins Tuesday with 43 of the country’s top and rising players slug it out in the two-stage qualifier at the Luisita Golf and Country Club in Tarlac.
Reigning national junior champion Aidric Chan heads the cast that includes the likes of Carl Corpus, Josh Jorge, Don Petil, Paolo Wong and Sean Ramos.
Others tipped to contend are Kristoffer Arevalo, Leandro Bagtas, Paqo Barro, Elee Bisera, Perry Bucay, Luis Castro, Dan Cruz, Luigi Guerrero, David Guangko, Basti Lorenzo, Gabby Manotoc, Aniceto Mandanas, Ryan Monsalve, Carlo Quimson, Jacob Rolida, Lanz Uy, Rald Sarmiento and Joachim Yu.
The organizing National Golf Association of the Philippines said the top 12 players plus ties and players within 10 strokes of the leading scorer after the 72-hole Stage I will advance to Stage 2.
Players with 160 scores and above will be cut from the remainder of the elims.
After Stage 2, the top three players with the total combined scores from two elims will make the SEA Games men’s squad.
Stage 2 will be played June 10-13, also at the hazard-laden Robert Trent Jones, Sr.-designed layout.
The SEA Games women’s team, meanwhile, will be composed by the Asian Games gold medal squad composed of Yuka Saso, Bianca Pagdanganan and Lois Kaye Go.
Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!