The Philippines nearly seized the men’s title in the recent 2018 Malaysia Open Water Polo Championship.

After sweeping their elimination-round assignments, the Filipinos drew their gold-medal match with Thailand at 7-all, forcing a penalty shootout where the Thais seized the opportunity.

Despite losing in the shootout, 2-4, the Pinoy water polo specialists still stood at the medal podium proud with what they have accomplished.

Showing off their medals during the awarding ceremony are Tani Gomez Jr., Matthew Royce Yu, Macgyver Reyes, Mico Anota, Reynaldo Salonga Jr., Teodoro Roy Canete Jr., Romark Johnson Belo, Adan Gonzales, Mummar Alamara, Juan Paolo Serrano and Abnel Amiladjid.

Headcoach Reynaldo Galang called the shots for the team together with his deputy, assistant coach Ricardo Dilapdilap.

They defeated Thailand, 12-4, in the preliminaries as well as Malaysia and a club team from Kuala Lumpur before the Filipinos flexed their might in the semifinals with a clear 21-4 victory over Negeri Sembilan.

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!