The best of Philippine sports will take centerstage anew when the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) recognizes the top achievers of 2018 during its Annual Awards Night next month.

The traditional gala to be held on Feb. 26 at The Manila Hotel will hand out of the Athlete of the Year award to the four gold medal winners in the Indonesia Asian Games last August—weightlifter Hidilyn Diaz, skateboarder Margielyn Didal and the golfing trio of Yuka Saso, Bianca Pagdanganan and Lois Kaye Go

The PSA Board, led by president Dodo Catacutan of, has finished deliberations on several nominees for the top honor and other awards.

The four gold medals won by the young Filipino quartet were the most for the country since the same number of golds bagged during the 2006 Asiad in Doha, Qatar.

Last year, world champions Jerwin Ancajas (boxing), Krizziah Lyn Tabora (bowling) and Carlo Biado (billiards) were co-recipients of the PSA Athlete of the Year plum.

Composed of editors, sportswriters and columnists from print (broadsheet and tabloid) and online media,
the PSA will also be naming
its regular President’s Award, Executive of the Year, National Sports Association of the Year, and Lifetime Achievement recipients.

Also to be named are Mr. Basketball, Mr. and Ms. Volleyball and Mr. Football awardees.

The country’s sports fraternity, the oldest media group in the Philippines established in 1949, will likewise be giving away major awards and citations in various sports.

The Tony Siddayao Awards and the Milo Junior Athletes of the Year are both given to young achievers.

Also to be recognized with a posthumous honor are athletes, officials and other personalities who passed away in 2018.

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!